Skip to content
Tags

,

Second attempt.

August 30, 2009

On Tuesday I will make my second attempt at kicking the bottle. I’m choosing that day, because it’s the first of the month, and I’ll be away from temptation for most of the day at work. Tomorrow night I will treat myself to a nice bottle of red wine, anything that is left when I go to bed goes down the sink.

If this attempt fails I will seek help from outside, I have already checked out the AA, and there are local meetings on Thursday at 8PM.

I also want to use this blog to outline my drinking habits, since they are probably not what you might perceive as been typical of an Alcoholic.

On a week day my first drink of the day will be some time after I get home from work, maybe not until 7 or 8 pm; I do not wake up in the mornings needing a drink; I do not pop to the pub at lunchtimes for a quick pint. Saying that.. it is not unusual for me to have finished a 3 litre bottle of 7.5% white cider before midnight. I am a binge drinker.

I do not drink and drive, if it is my turn to drive I will not have an alcoholic drink, not even one.

I have never taken a day off work because of a hangover, when I used to get them I’d force myself into work. I don’t get them any more.

Beyond the fact that I drink too much, I have never let anyone down because of my drinking.

Only once in my life have I forgotten what I was doing when I was drunk (that’s a story for another blog, it was over 20 years ago, and is quite a funny story, though I do not promise to write it, we’ll see).

Nobody has ever been injured (except possibly emotionally) because of my drinking.

So, why do I want to stop drinking? The short answer is, I don’t. What I want is to be able to have a few pints at weekend, and occasionally get drunk at a party. But what I want, and what I need are miles apart.

I know that once I have had that first drink, then it’s too late.

Wish me luck, I’m going to need it.

From → Alcohol

2 Comments
  1. Good luck dude! Proud of you for trying this x

  2. Good luck mate! I drank quite heavily in a pattern not dissimilar to what you described above. Meeting my (current) wife changed that…not that she asked me to change a thing. She just believed in me for who I was, not who I felt I was when drunk. It did not happen overnight but over the course of a year my drinking went down from everynight (lots on some nights, more on others) to now maybe once a month or even less. I cannot point to God or to ‘better living’ or any of the usual ideals. Rather she made it so I just didn’t need to be that other person…and I got ‘blind’ a lot more than you describe above too..lots of lost memories and I didn’t want to lose anymore…

    Write me anytime. you have my addy mate.

Leave a Reply

